Skip to content ↓
Worthing High School

Worthing High School

World Book Day

Board and Trustees

The principles and responsibilities of governance are the same in academies as they are in maintained schools but the Trustees have greater autonomy. The Trustees can continue to delegate functions to committees, Local Governing Bodies, the Headteacher or any other holder of an executive office.

Academies can choose how many committees to have and decide what to delegate to them. The academy company (made up of members and trustees) has a strategic role in running the academy and is responsible for appointing the governors to the local governing bodies of each school within the Trust. 

The key responsibilities of the Trustees are to:

  • Ensure the quality of educational provision
  • Challenge and monitor the performance of the academy
  • manage the academy trust's finances and property and employ staff

Board Members

Martin Garratt - Chairman                        Beki Tonks - Vice Chairman

Paul Riley                                                    Dr John Bull

Dr Paul Jones


Rosanne Fleming-Nulty - Chairman                             Richard Cohen - Vice Chairman

Tony Lau-Walker                                                            Hilary Thomas

Terry Parkin                                                                    Andy Sparsis

Kate Prangnell

Rosanne Fleming-Nulty - Chairman of Trustees

Qualified accountant,  lead examiner for my Chartered Accountancy

body, a governance, risk management and business performance specialist, and an elected Member of the Council for her accountancy body.

Richard Cohen - Vice Chairman of Trustees

Richard was educated at Worthing High School in 1990's and returned as a volunteer in 2008 to develop the school’s financial literacy programme.  He subsequently became a Trustee of the school in 2009 and a Governor in 2012 - until 2015.  

Works as a Chartered Financial Planner.

Hilary Thomas - Trustee 

Teacher, EAL Advisory Teacher, SEN Advisory Teacher, SENCo and Senior Manager in Inner and Outer London Schools for 27 years. Accredited Ofsted Inspector (lapsed). 2001 – 2009 General Adviser SEN with West Sussex CC. 2009 – 20125 Senior Adviser SEN with WSCC. Accredited SIP. She has been carrying out PP and SEN reviews in West Sussex schools including academies from February 2016 to current date. She is a  governor of a West Sussex Primary School – SEN and Disability Governor.

Tony Lau Walker - Trustee

  • Employed by OFSTED as an additional inspector.
  • Employed by RSA (now OCR) as a Chief Verifier.
  • A member of the Management Committee of the Bridge Education Centre in Hampshire (a pupil referral unit)
  • Director of The Good Shepard Trust - a diocesan multi-academy trust based in Guildford (currently with 12 schools - mainly primary) since 2013;
  • Governor of Onslow Infants School in Guildford;
  • Member of the Board of Trustees of VTCT a vocational awarding body;
  • Director of VTCT Foundation - a charity which makes grants to support medical research work in the field of disfigurement and to bodies helping those living with a visible difference.

Terry Parkin - Trustee

Terry Parkin was head of science and director of studies at WHS in the 90’s. Subsequently, he worked for a number of local authorities in London and the south east serving as Director of Education in both Southwark and Tower Hamlets, and Director of Children’s Services in Brighton and Hove and, ultimately, Bromley. Terry spent a year as interim CEO to King’s Group Academies and is a Non Executive Director of the South East Coast Ambulance NHS Trust.


Andy Sparsis - Trustee 

Andy Sparsis is the founder of Proto Restaurant Group and has been a proud member of the Worthing business community for over 15 years. Proto has founded The Fish Factory, Food, The Fat Greek Taverna, The Fish Factory Boutique and Costa’s Gold Organic Olive Oil. Their multi award winning restaurants are testament to their philanthropic and pioneering attitude towards catering and are always pushing boundaries in cuisine and service.

Andy Sparsis is proud of his local work especially his patronage to Love your hospitals charity, his trusteeship for the Brighton & Hove Greek school and church, as well as a Director of the town center steering group (TCI). Andy Sparsis is currently working on a project with Worthing Borough Council to rejuvenate the fishing heritage of Worthing, and he has also been rewarded with the business personality of the year for West Sussex and is a member of the Who Who’s brains elite.

Andy strongly believes his rewards are his long-term achievements that will help shape a better Worthing and surrounding areas.

Kate Prangnell - Trustee

Kate Prangnell is the Group Corporate Responsibility Manager for Equiniti Group PLC. She joined the Trustees in September 2019 having been an active Business Partner of the Trust schools. 

Kate runs a successful "female mentoring" programme across the school - aspiring young women to become leaders of the future.  

Martin Garratt - Board Member (Chairman)

Martin Garratt is currently Headteacher of Vale School, Worthing, a three form primary school rated Good by Ofsted in Feb 17 with L&M rated as Outstanding.  He also works with schools in the South East region as an Ofsted Inspector and supports schools in a consultant headteacher role.  Martin has supported another local multi academy group in the past providing expertise of the primary curriculum.  His other specialist areas are teaching and learning, leadership and mathematics.

John Bull - Board Member  


Read Law at Cambridge and went on to study Medicine in London after Science A Levels. Worked as a secondary teacher in Sierra Leone and as a trainee doctor in London, Salisbury and Birmingham and Consultant Physician in Worthing. Has been a Governor at Worthing High School since it opened as a mixed school in the early 1980s. 

Dr Bull is also a Governor of Worthing High School.

Dr Paul Jones - Board Member 

Dr Paul Jones is CEO of the Sparkle Multi Academy Trust based in Worthing.


Beki Tonks - Board Member (Vice Chairman) 

Beki Tonks is the Managing Director for The Workforce Facilitator. She has also worked as an Enterprise Co-ordinator for Coast to Capital.


Paul Riley - Board Member 

Paul Riley is Principal of Worthing College part of the Chichester College Group.